An Introduction

I thought this might be a good time to introduce myself to all of you, my name is Michele Kaminski and I graduated from Truman in May of 2009 with a BA in Art History. I am spending the next year here in Kirksville while my daughter graduates high school and I prepare for my graduate studies at Bowling Green State University in Bowling Green, Ohio.

Aaron thought a new voice on the blog would be an asset and I realized it would keep me in touch with what was going on at the Truman Gallery. I love writing about art and cultural events, so I will do my best to keep you informed of any new and interesting things happening not only at the Gallery but in Kirksville as well.

For starters the Kirksville Arts Association will open a new exhibition on September 3, 2009 entitled “Paintings of Clara Straight.” This show runs through October 10, 2009 with a reception on September 13 from 2pm – 3pm. The Gallery is open Thursdays through Saturdays from 1pm – 5pm. 

Also on September 19th the annual Red Barn Arts & Crafts Festival is being held on the square downtown, from 9am to 4pm, don’t miss it. This is a great community festival with tons lots of great art and fun stuff.  http://www.kirksvillearts.com/newsite/

“Art is the most intense mode of individualism that the world has known.” ~ Oscar Wilde

Leave a Reply

