A Reminder

This Wednesday, February 17th @ 6pm in the SUB the show Shades of Black: A celebration of Black History and Culture through the Arts will host an opening reception in the SUB Georgian A-B and SUB Hub the show is open 11am – 5pm February 16-21. Make sure to stop by and if anyone has pictures of the opening email them to me @ mrk040@truman.edu and I will get them posted here on the blog.

On Sunday, February 14th the Kirksville Daily Express ran a front page story on the show and other various Big Read events as well as explained what The Big Read was all about. I hope you all had a chance to see the article and will come to any of the events that will be taking place around Kirksville for the next couple of months.

If you haven’t had the chance to get by the Kirksville Arts Center please do. The exhibition The Things They Carried: Mementos from Kirksville Vietnam War Veterans continues until February 26th. I have included some pictures of the show in the hopes that you will come and see the show and also get involved in the Big Read. If you would like a copy of the book contact Mona Davis @ 660-785-4383 asap!

The Big Read will also be sponsoring two movies at the Kirksville Downtown Cinema 8 theatre, “Platoon” on March 17th and “Full Metal Jacket” on March 24th. Both shows will begin at 6:45pm, are free to the public and will be on a first-come first-served basis.

“If being an egomaniac means I believe in what I do and in my art or music, then in that respect you can call me that… I believe in what I do, and I’ll say it.” John Lennon

M

Leave a Reply

